Dr. Kajal Chakraborty Director, ICAR-NBFGR

Dr Kajal Chakraborty has joined Agricultural Research Service of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research at ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management during 2003, and served in various capacities as Scientist 2003-12, Senior Scientist 2012-18, Principal Scientist 2018-2023 at ICAR-Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Cochin, and Head of the Marine Biotechnology Fish Nutrition



and Health Division of ICAR-Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Cochin 2023-2025. Dr. Kajal Chakraborty has R&D expertise in Fishery Biotechnology and Bioprospecting, with research records of about 300 peer-reviewed papers, 6,500+ citations, 16 granted patents, and 14 commercialized technologies, with his name listed among the scientists in world's top 2% rankings by Stanford, and have led multiple inter-institutional projects aimed at enhancing understanding of Fisheries Biotechnology and Its role in Fisheries Management.

Received Appreciation Certificate (2008) from Dr. S. Ayyappan (Former Hon'ble DG ICAR and Secretary DARE), Fellowship of National Academy of Sciences, India (FNASc, Elected 2024) and National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (FNAAS, Elected 2018); VASVIK-Industrial Award, 2023; ICAR-Norman Borlaug National Award, 2020; Department of Biotechnology-Biotechnology (DBT) Product, Process Development and Commercialization Award, 2020; NAAS Recognition Award 2019-2020, Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award for outstanding research in Agricultural Science 2017; AFSIB Prof HPC Shetty Award, 2017; CIFE Dr. C.V. Kulkarni Best Young Scientist Award, 2013; ISCA Pran Vohra Award, 2008; AFSIB Prof. T.J. Pandian and A.J. Matty Award, 2008; DST Young Scientist project award, 2007; 13th Annual SAARC Congress Best paper award, 2001; ICPE Best paper award, 2001; More than 20+ best paper awards by his students and research group; 12th Annual SAARC Congress Best paper award, 2000; NAIP 3 months postdoctoral research grant, 2010; Gold Medal and Best PhD Thesis, 2003 (Best Ph.D. student and gold medalist; awarded with first gold medal OGPA: 4.00/4.00); CSIR-PGIA-UoP International travel grant, 2000; MSc First Gold Medal, 1999 (First rank holder and gold medalist; OGPA: 4.00/4.00); Member of Evaluation Committee under NPOP, APEDA from 2021; Member of R&D Infrastructure Division of the DST (IIT-SAIF) from 2021; Member of Study Advisory Committee of TIFAC; Nominee-Member of DBT Institutional Biosafety Committee; Member DBT, Indo-Belgian Research and Technology Cooperation Joint Networking Scheme; Task Force Member ANRF (DST), Govt. of India, Member DBT-TEC on Aquaculture & Marine Biotechnology, 2018-2022; Member DBT-TEC Microbial and Natural Sciences Program from 2022; Expert Member for Screening Committee of ATGC Scheme of Agriculture and Allied Areas of DBT, 2021; Member subject expert, Indo-US Task force, 2013; Member: Sectional Committee of A & FS, 96th Session of ISCA; Life-member Indian Science Congress Association, Society of Pesticide Science India; American Society of Pharmacognosy, Asian Fisheries Society, Marine Biological Society of India, Indian Fisheries Association, Society of Fisheries Technology, India, etc. Mentored over 20 Ph.D. students, with 4 receiving the ICAR Jawaharlal Nehru Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research.